2010 Finalists for the Marfield Prize:


The National Award for Arts Writing


WASHINGTON, DC The 2010 finalists for the Marfield Prize have been announced and include:

  Grant Wood: a Life,  by R. Tripp Evans
Charlie Chan: the Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and his Rendezvous with American History, by Yunte Huang

Girls to the Front: the True Story of the Riot GRRRL Revolution, by Sara Marcus

The Advance Man: a Journey into the World of the Circus by Jamie MacVicar

This $10,000 "prize one of the largest given to a single author" is awarded annually to a work of nonfiction about the arts that is written in a manner that opens up the art to new audiences. The award helps fulfill the Arts Club's mission to making art accessible to DC residents.

The winning book will be chosen by three distinguished judges:

 E. Ethelbert Miller

 Katherine Neville

 Michael Martone

The winning book will be announced on April 16, 2011 at the Arts Club's annual Monroe Dinner. The winning author will be invited to Washington in May to conduct an outreach program at Duke Ellington School for the Arts, a free public reading on May 11 at 7:00 pm at the Arts Club, and attend the award dinner at the Club on May 12. All public events will take place at the Arts Club at 2017 I Street, NW, in the historic James Monroe House.



All information is the property of Sideshow World & their respective authors.  Any republication in part or in whole is strictly prohibited.  For more information please contact us here


Back to Updates        Back to Main


All photos are the property of their respective owners whether titled or marked anonymous.

"Sideshow WorldTM" is the sole property of John Robinson All rights reserved.

 sideshowworld.com   sideshowworld.org   sideshowworld.net  sideshowworld.biz   sideshowworld.info

is the sole property of John Robinson All rights reserved.

E-Mail Sideshow World     E-Mail The Webmaster